Facebook and Instagram are testing a new Do Not Disturb feature. This new feature will allow users to exclude notifications from the application for a specific period or until they decide to re-enable them
Noticed by one of the users who regularly follow such things, Facebook and Instagram have begun testing a new feature that will allow users to completely exclude notification from the application. The shutdown, as can be seen from the images, can be done on 30 minutes, 1 hour, 2 hours, 8 hours, one day or until the user resolves to turn them on again. This feature is aimed at the trend of companies this year to motivate users to less their applications as part of the “Time Well spent” initiative.
You may wonder how Facebook, Instagram or any of the other companies may want to use their applications or services less. The answer would be that nowadays we are so often on our mobile phones, that the time spent is already briefly said “no senses”. Companies seem to know that in order to be able to provide the best user experience, and hence users, who will actively monitor what is happening on the networks, and more precisely the ads, will have to enable users to get involved and usefully spend their time.
On the other hand, users receive. Everything in the direction of controlling this modern envy is certainly good. The latest versions of Android and iOS include features that show how much time we spend on our smartphone, divided by each application. If we want, we have the opportunity to forbid the use of an application after a certain period during the day.
Such statistics have already been announced for Instagram and Facebook, so it can be freely concluded that this will become something of a standard, and we are keen to see if it will contribute to a better pastime, as the initiative says. In this direction, the latest feature of Instagram, available with the latest version, is also available, which informs the users that they have seen all the announcements of the past 48 hours. With this, users can stop constantly opening the application for “uncontrolled” scrolling without any specific purpose.